Finally an Australian release date for Attack the Block?

News on the Australian release date for Joe Cornish’s  surprise British sci-fi hit Attack the Block is still a bit thin on the ground, but I’ve stumbled across a couple of sources which point to 2nd December 2011 for the Australian release. Another source suggests a worldwide release on the 1st December 2011, so the 2nd for Australia sounds entirely feasible. No official word yet of course, but that’s good enough for me, for now.

If you haven’t already read my earlier blog on this movie, you can read it at Inner City vs Outer Space – ‘Attack the Block’ . I’m officially VERY excited about the prospect of taking the All Action No Plot Movie Club to see this!

Check out the trailer here…

5 thoughts on “Finally an Australian release date for Attack the Block?”

  1. I have heard Edgar Wright also had a hand in this.

    Any chance we might be able to expect some cool, frantic action editing with awesome kinetic energy the likes of Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz and Scott Pilgrim?

  2. Actually, I think this might be a totally different beast altogether, especially next to Scott Pilgrim. I’d say perhaps it might have an element of Shaun of the Dead about it, particularly with Nick Frost being in it, but I’d definitely say it was Joe Cornish’s movie. I reckon we’ll see big things from Joe.

  3. Sucks that it gets released on DVD on Sep 19th (already pre-ordered from amazon.co.uk!), yet it doesnt release in the cinemas in australia until december.

  4. Fxck im sick of Australia releasing sh1t so late… DVD gets release world wide before the film even comes on Australian screens and they cry about piracy and people not going to the cinemas… morons.

    1. Ha ha ha, I know what you mean yeah. I’m used to it now, but it is pretty annoying, especially for movies of this ilk with significant amount of positive buzz.

Leave a comment