Bill Nighy, Action Hero… Wrath of the Titans and Total Recall

Sure, not everyone’s first choice as an action hero, but recently Bill Nighy was interviewed by Collider, in which the Underworld star talked about two of his big upcoming blockbusters in 2012.

The first is Wrath of the Titans, the upcoming sequel to 2010’s Clash of the Titans. Nighy told Collider, “In Clash of the Titans 2, I play Hephaestus, who is armorer to the Gods. I make all the weapons, I live in a cave, and I fell from Mt. Olympus. It’s not in the movie, but in the myth, Zeus, who was his father, threw him out of Mt. Olympus because he was lame, and he fell for seven days, which didn’t improve his limp. It’s a very nice character and we had a very good time. We were above the cloud on a volcano, looking down on a carpet of white cloud in Spain, on a very beautiful landscape, which quite easily resembles the ancient world. It was quite an experience.” 

Wrath of the Titans will again feature Sam Worthington as Perseus, Liam Neeson as Zeus and Ralph Fiennes as Hades. It will be directed by, ahem… Jonathan Liebesman of Battle Los Angeles infamy, and will be released on the 18th March 2012 in Australia, and the 30th March in the UK and the US.
 
Nighy also talked about his role as Cuato in Len Wiseman’s Total Recall remake, alongside Colin Farrell, Jessica Biel, Bryan Cranston and Kate Beckinsale. He said, “The original is treasured by people, I know, but I think I can help them relax. I think it’s in very, very good hands. The script is fabulous. I like sci-fi. I’m not keen on monsters from outer space, or that kind of thing, too much, although I’ll go with it, in certain cases. 

But, I love imaginative representations of a possible near-future, where you look at the technology and you think, “Well, yeah, that could really nearly be true.” I like those kinds of backgrounds. And, it’s a cracking script. Colin [Farrell], Jessica [Biel], Bryan Cranston and Kate Beckinsale are a pretty hot cast. I look forward to seeing that, even though I’m in it. I hate seeing films I’m in, but I think I’m going to have to watch it because I want to see it so bad.” 
 
Total Recall due to hit theatres in the US on the 2nd August 2012, and the UK on the 22nd August. No release date for Australia has been given yet.

Leave a Reply

